Learn to Code from Someone Else

If my pace isn’t fast enough for you, or if you just need more fodder for your insatiable hunger to learn everything you can about programming right this second, you might be interested in this post by Scott Hanselman that popped up on my radar today. It has a Venn diagram (or is it an Euler diagram? Are you nerdy enough to find out?) that explains the difference between some key terms like hacker, coder, developer, and, if you follow one of the links, dweeb. He also compares coding to going to Ikea, which is inaccurate. As miserable as coding makes me sometimes, it has never made me as miserable as a trip to Ikea.

I don’t have first-hand experience with all of the resources he points to, but I have used a few of them. The ones I know are good, and the others look like they’d be worth getting to know better. I noticed that Code, the book I mentioned in my first Learn to Code post, came up in Hanselman’s post, as well. That’s two out of two blogs connected to this blog that recommend that book! You can keep thinking about it if you want, but sooner or later, you’re going to read it. I’m as sure of that as I am that Oreos are going to get mentioned in this post.

One point Hanselman makes (that I made in a slightly different way and will echo here) is that where you should start learning to code depends heavily on where you want to end up–assuming you know where you want to end up. I’m trying to keep a pretty general view in my posts as I get started, since if you’re starting completely from scratch, there are basics that will come in handy no matter which direction you go. But if you already know that you want to build robots to reenact scenes from Saved By the Bell in your local community theater, you can probably find some materials elsewhere that will give you a foundation targeted more specifically toward that, and the list on Hanselman’s post is a good place to start.

Don’t forget about this guy!

So go ahead and browse around. There’s lots of good stuff out there. I’d love to hear some feedback on which resources you like best if you’re not coming at it from a STEM background.

Love and kisses,

Tyler

Leave a Reply

